Peveril (Beyer Peacock, 1875)

Peveril (Beyer Peacock, 1875)

Governor's Car

Governor's Car

 

The Isle of Man Railway Museum in the village of Port Erin in the Isle of Man is a small display that shows the history of the Isle of Man Railway through exhibits and visual displays which chart the history of the railway from its opening in 1873 until the present day, covering the now-closed lines that served Peel, Ramsey and Foxdale as well as the remaining line to Port Erin to which it forms part of the southern terminus. The Port Erin Railway Museum is located quite literally at the end of the line – on the platform of the most southerly stop on the Isle of Man Steam Railway.

Inside you’ll find steam engines and carriages including the royal carriages which carried The Queen and Queen Mother in 1963 and Queen Elizabeth II in 1972. The museum is home to a fine collection of locomotives, the Royal Train, rolling stock, memorabilia, posters and interpretive displays. The museum is also home to the Isle of Man’s only railway simulator. Unveiled in summer 2016, the Drive the Diesel simulator experience costs £5 for a 15 minute session or £10 for the enthusiast level training. The museum also has a souvenir shop making this a perfect place for train enthusiasts and visitors alike.

 

The museum was first opened in 1975 when the Isle of Man Road Services (a subsidiary of the railway company) relocated to their new garage which is still extant today at the foot of the main platform. At this time the railway only operated between Port Erin and Castletown in an experimental season attempting to reduce running costs; the following year services were extended to Ballasalla before finally returning to Douglas in 1977 since when the full line has operated. The building, consisted of metal frame and asbestos cladding and for this reason was extensively rebuilt in 1999, since which time it has included a souvenir shop which is housed in the former goods shed; prior to this, the locomotives were kept overnight in this goods shed, the original locomotive shed being used only to store unservicable locomotives; when the museum was modified the locomotive shed returned to its original use and the goods shed converted into a shop area with new porch added.

Since it originally opened in 1975, the railway museum has housed a variety of major exhibits. Exhibits in the museum include two engines and two coaches as well as other equipment from the railway. The royal carriages, as used by HM Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother in 1963 and by HM Queen Elizabeth II in 1972, are preserved in the museum. There is also a large display of photographs, posters and other memorabilia. In addition to the framed exhibits of old posters and the like, further displays are mounted on the walls of the station building itself in the waiting room and booking office. These were once part of the museum and donated by a preservationists group when the facility was first opened.

Exhibits at the museum include - No. 6 Peveril of 1875 (Arrived 2002); No. 16 Mannin of 1926 (Arrived 1975); F. 75 The Governor's Saloon (Arrived 1975); F.36 The Queen's Coach (Arrived 1976); Van G.19 of 1921 (Arrived 2013); Wood-Turning Lathe (Arrived 1988); Original (1873) Carriage Door (Arrived 2004); Mock-Up Station Masters' Office (Created 1999) and a Permanent Way Diorama Display (Created 2013).

The current exhibit Mannin has been an attraction since the museum opened in 1975 and was only removed for one season in 1998–99 whilst the structure of the museum building received attention; since returning it has been turned to face chimney-first to Douglas and is no longer rail-connected. Prior to its restoration, funded by the Isle of Man Steam Railway Supporters' Association No. 4 Loch of 1874 was a main exhibit, being replaced by No. 6 Peveril when the former was removed to be restored.

Displays at the museum include: Framed Original Ticket Displays; Photographs Of All Locomotives; Old Planes & Lathes From Workshops; Recreation Of Station Master's Office; An Old Snow Plough From The Line and Visual Display Boards Charting Histories

 

The museum is operated in conjunction with the steam railway from Port Erin to Douglas. Admission is included with the railway ticket or there is a small fee for those who do not wish to travel on the steam railway. Step back in time for a journey you will never forget, experience the grandeur of travelling between Douglas and the south of the Island on a Victorian railway, perfectly frozen in time. Sit back, relax and enjoy a journey through the beautiful and ever changing Manx countryside thanks to Victorian engineering that has well and truly stood the test of time. Children will love travelling on the train line especially if they are Thomas the Tank Engine fans. Thomas and the Magic Railroad film was made here on the Isle of Man and it was inspired by the Isle of Man Railways.

Opened in 1874, this narrow gauge railway still runs with its original locomotives and carriages, through an ever changing landscape, to a choice of destinations in the south of the Island, these include the ancient monastery of Rushen Abbey, the impressive Castle Rushen, and the Old House of Keys, all within the ancient capital Castletown and within walking distance of the town's station. A really good reason to purchase a Go Explore card. Further down the line there are a number of sheltered, sandy beaches, and the IoM Steam Railway Museum at Port Erin. A one way journey along the beautiful Manx countryside running the full length from Douglas to Port Erin takes an hour to complete. In July and August, the peak months of the holiday season, there are seven return trains a day through the countryside, one of which is an evening service.

Dating from 1874, the Isle of Man Steam Railway is the oldest Victorian rail system in Britain. The narrow gauge railway still runs with its original locomotives and carriages. Douglas Station has a cafe and waiting area. Toilets, including disabled facilities, are available, as is a full height platform. Port Erin station has a cafe, waiting room and toilets, including a disabled facility. Platforms are mostly full height. Port Erin coach park is adjacent to the station. Entrance is from Station Road into Droghadfayle Road, then turn right before the fire station and the coach parking bays are on the left between some commercial buildings and a toilet block. Vehicles may park on this site for 16 hours in any 24. Assistance dogs are welcome. There is wheelchair access to all parts of the museum. Expert guides from their Heritage Railway Volunteers are generally on hand on Sunday mornings from 11:00 to 13:00 to offer tours of the museum. Additionally, guides are available on Thursday evenings between 19:30 and 21:00 from mid July to mid September.

 

Location : Port Erin Station, Station Road, Port Erin IM9 6AE

Transport: Douglas Ferry then steam train. Bus Routes : 1, 2, 11, 12 and N1 stop nearby.

Opening Times : 18 March - 5 November 2017 on Steam railway days 09:30 to 16:30.

Tickets : Adults £2.00; Children £1.00; Go Explore card holders free.

Tel: 01624 662525