Milford Haven Museum is a maritime and heritage museum in Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire. Opened in 1991, it has a heavy focus on the maritime history of the town, with exhibitions which explore the fishing and oil industries in the area. The collection also contains information relating to the railway industry in the area, Milford at war, the shipbuilding industry and the Liquefied Natural Gas process. Summer 2013 saw the arrival of a rare Bronze Age wooden trough, discovered locally at St Botolphs in 2006. The museum is located centrally in the docks area, and is housed in the town's oldest building, the Custom House, which dates back to 1797. A Grade II listed building made of rubble stone, it was designed by Swansea architect, Jernigan, and built for the storage of whale oil.
Milford Haven has been connected with a number of industries - fishing, Quaker whaling from 1790s, which lead to the whale oil industry and more recently the modern oil industry. It has also played an important role during the two World Wars, when it was a convoy assembly point for mine-sweeping. The Museum collection reflects all of these aspects of the town's history, but focuses particularly on the maritime history. The collection also contains information relating to the railway industry in the area, such as prospectuses from the 1850s, share certificates, and records of the State and Railway Company, which built the railway between Milford Haven and Johnston, this contains information relating to rents of properties, etc.
Wartime information in the collection includes personal diaries from the First World War, and 'intelligence' diaries kept by docks companies, relating to maritime activities; diaries from the Second World War, kept by trawlermen; miscellaneous wartime material such as details of the boom installed across the docks to prevent submarines from entering; and wartime broadcasts from c.1942, transferred to vinyl records, and covering subjects such as nutrition. Other items include prints and paintings; artefacts based on the fishing and maritime industry and other local industries, including shipwrights, foundries, net makers ....
This is a gem of a museum, packed full of arcane and fascinating artefacts and memorabilia. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. The museum is wheelchair accessible. Assistance dogs are welcome.
Location : The Old Custom House, The Docks, Milford Haven SA73 3AA
Transport : Milford Haven (National Rail) then 5 minutes. Bus Routes : 300 and 315 stop near by.
Opening Times : Monday to Saturday, 10:30 to 16:00
Tickets : Contact the museum
Tel : 01646 694496