Newbury Park Car Park

Newbury Park Car Park

Newbury Park Platforms

Newbury Park Platforms

Newbury Park Bus Sta.

Newbury Park Bus Station

 

Newbury Park originally opened on 1 May 1903, as part of a Great Eastern Railway (GER) branch line from Woodford to Ilford via Hainault, known as the Fairlop Loop. This line, designed to stimulate suburban growth, had a chequered career. As a consequence of the 1921 Railways Act, the GER was merged with other railway companies in 1923 to become part of the London & North Eastern Railway (LNER). The station's most prominent feature is the adjacent bus station, designed by Oliver Hill, and opened on 6 July 1949. Distinguished by a copper-covered barrel-vaulted roof, the structure is a Grade II listed building and won a Festival of Britain architectural award in 1951. The name Newbury was first recorded in 1348. The area, along with the rest of Ilford, was part of the county of Essex until 1965, when the new borough became a part of Greater London. The station boasts wi-fi, payphones, Amazon lockers, cash machines, Euro cash machines, a waiting room, bridge, car park and toilets

 

In 2009, because of financial constraints, TfL decided to stop work on a project to provide step-free access at Newbury Park and five other stations, on the grounds that these are relatively quiet stations and some are already one or two stops away from an existing step-free station.

 

Connections: London Buses routes 66; 296 and 396 serve the station.